Cavs Wrap

By: Andrea Cole

Every week over the Summer, Andrea Cole take a look back and brings you the latest Cavs updates in the week that was.

LeBron Thanks Some Fans with Ad

James took the time to thank Akron - Not Cleveland

LeBron James thanked the fans for supporting him while he played well for the Cavs.

Well, his Akron fans.

James placed a full-page ad in the Akron Beacon Journal, thanking everyone from his hometown.

“For all my life, I have lived in Akron, and for that, I am a truly lucky man,” the letter reads. “Akron is my home, and the central focus of my life. It’s where I started, and it’s where I will always come back to.”

While the ad features pictures of his annual “King for Kids Bikeathon,” there were no photos of LeBron in his No. 23 Cleveland jersey or any basketball pictures. In the letter, James also failed to mention his former team, teammates or Cleveland.

The ad was printed two days after former Cavaliers’ center Zydrunas Ilgauskas took out an ad in the Cleveland Plain Dealer. Ilgauskas’ ad thanked the Cleveland fans were supporting him for 12 years. Ilgauskas is joining James in Miami next season.

Ilgauskas’ letter stated, “I realize how lucky I was to have grown up in a place like Cleveland. All of you have taught me the importance of family and friends; of pulling together to get things done; of loving your country. But as I enter the last few years of my career, I felt I owed it to myself and my family to chase my dream of winning an NBA championship. I hope you understand.”

Cavs, Heat matchups released

The first time LeBron James plays in Cleveland in a different uniform will be December 2nd when the Cavaliers host the Miami Heat.

The teams also will meet in Miami December 15th and January 31st and in Cleveland March 29. The full NBA schedule will be announced August 10th.

Follow Andrea Cole on Twitter @AndreaCole

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Browse

  • Archives