A Beautiful Ride

By: Michael Reghi

Many of you inquire about my television college football and basketball play-by-play endeavors during the fall and winter, and I’d like to give you a thumbnail outline regarding how it all unfolds.

Firstly, and foremost, I am blessed to have begun my twenty fifth, yep, that’s right 25th season of calling the games on television. I remain as passionate over the workload today, as I was upon getting my first opportunity in 1986. I have called games in virtually every Division One conference from the Atlantic to the Pacific, Big Ten, ACC, SEC, BIG 12,Big East,PAC 10, WAC, A-10, Horizon, and of course the league that remains always close at heart…the Mid-American Conference!

I’ve spent countless hours watching game tape, both football and basketball with many of the legendary names that have been so impactful to their sports..too numerous to mention them all here, yet, men, and women, who are the lifeblood of preparing young athletes for all that awaits them in their lives. I salute each and every one of them for their contributions! I’ve always felt that collegiate sports are more of a ‘coaches game’, while the professional side is about players. My relationships with virtually all of them are like ‘gold’ to me! Absolutely phenomenal group of people! Love the coaches!

And, having spent sixteen seasons in the NBA, nine in Major League Baseball, and two in the NFL calling games, the college game still holds marvelous appeal to me. Preparing is an all week proposition, as I spend an hour or more of prep time for each hour an air calling the game. And I love it!

Case in point, I will be calling the FCS playoffs the first two weeks of December for ESPN. I have perennial power Appalachian State in round 2, and I’m really looking forward to the trek into Boone, North Carolina to call one of the premier power programs In the nation! They have won FCS National Championships, and will forever be associated with their 2007 stunning of Chad Henne, Mike Hart, Jake Long, Shawn Crable, Prescott Burgess, Leon Hall, Morgan Trent, Alan Branch, Lamarr Woodley, and the 4th ranked at the time Michigan Wolverines in Ann Arbor! Many historians have ranked it the most powerful football stunner of all time! I mentioned those nine Wolverines, by the way, because ALL are currently playing in the NFL, with most of them starters for their teams. I maintain App State could move into the ACC, and be a solid squad year in, and year out!

On the hoops side this winter, I’ll call between 40-45 games for six different conferences, ESPN family of networks, ACC Network/Comcast Sportsnet, and this season, the MAC package airs on Sportstime Ohio. Very excited with the opportunity to join Jim Liberatore, Pat Kilkenny, and the STO crew, who will present the MAC in a very aggressive, production strong, HD perspective, like you’ve not experienced MAC Hoops before. Combine the television coverage of your favorite MAC squad, with the outstanding job done here on the radio side with ESPN Cleveland, and you’ll get your MAC hoop fix right through the league tournament in downtown Cleveland the second week of March. I am thrilled to be a part of both entities productions!

Given this hectic pace, please know that I’ll be contributing many blogs, 3-4 days a week here on ESPNCleveland.com for your inspection and feedback to, when I’m not joining my ‘Afternoon R & R partner, Kenny Roda, in studio. Will be checking with Roda from the road as well.

Please dial by often, here on ESPN Cleveland, and on the tv side as I call games. Welcome your critiques and comments, always! I believe Cleveland and Northeast Ohio has the goods as a college hoops area, prove me right!!

And know this, my preparation for, and passion while calling, college football and basketball will NEVER falter. Mine is a blessing to have had the opportunity for now a quarter of a century! And hey, remember, when you refer to me, it’s….’the wise veteran’….not the ‘old guy’!!!

Look for all of you tomorrow night on Sportstime Ohio at 7pm. Two of my absolute favorites on the coaching sidelines, as Gary Waters and his undefeated Cleveland State Vikings head to Rhodes Arena to tangle with Keith Dambrot, and his MAC contending Akron Zips!

Together, let’s go the hoop…STRONG!

Best, Cleveland!

Reg

1 Comment

  1. i just wanted to u tell you that i really like your show and all the games i get to hear and watch you call what ever sport it is i remember you the most from cavs and didnt realize all the other sports you did until your show even though i heard you on tv and and radio just didnt realize it was you thanks for all you do to keep us sports fans informed and entertained keep up the good work


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Browse

  • Archives