Baseball Season!

By Lindsey Foltin

Now It’s Officially Baseball Season!

The parties. The commercials. Most importantly… The game (and what a game it was).  Now that Aaron Rodgers has led the Green Bay Packers to a Super Bowl Championship and the Lombardi trophy is going home, it can only mean one thing. It’s officially baseball season. Pitchers and catchers report in one week.

Despite the fact the Indians have been tough (for lack of a better word) to watch over the past three seasons, fans still seem to get hooked on that Spring Training buzz. No matter how hard we try to ignore it, no matter how badly they break our hearts, we just can’t get enough. We’re the die-hard true baseball fans… And if you’re an Indians fan, there’s a good chance you’ve sworn up and down you won’t attend another game until ownership gives you a good reason to.

Well, fellow Tribe fans, I’ve got good news and bad news. The (obvious) bad news is, the Indians aren’t going to be playing in the World Series this year. Not the pennant either. The good news is, if you’re an optimist like myself, they actually have a chance to be competitive in the Central Davison this season. (And I don’t mean competitive for last place.)

Sure they’re extremely young, inexperienced and raw, but they’ve got some of the better talent our farm teams have seen in years. I’m sure you’ve all heard of Lonnie Chisenhall, Jason Kipnis, Cord Phelps and Bryce Stowell to name a few. These guys are on “top prospects” list all over the country, and the depth chart doesn’t just drop off with them. For what it’s worth, all of the Indians Minor League teams (except for Akron, who were division champs for the past five years) made runs deep into the playoffs last season. The Columbus Clippers won the Triple-A National Championship, and many of those players will be wearing Indians uniforms come April first.

My early prediction is that the Indians will finish second place in the AL Central. While some may think it’s a little bold, I know how talented this team is, and I’ll be one of the few who won’t be surprised when they turn this thing around in 2011. Playoffs 2012.

Follow me on Twitter @LindseyBaseball and check out the ESPN Cleveland Audio Vault for Winter Caravan interviews with Michael Brantley and Matt LaPorta.

2 Comments

  1. Hey Lindsey, I love your optimism!! I completely agee with you. I think this team is very under-rated. They will be heard from in the AL central this season. I’m not expecting a World Searies run. But I do expect them to be competative. That said…I think this is the year that the young pitching staff breaks through. Serioulsy, I think that 40 wins from the Carmona, Masterson and Talbot is not out of the question. I am looking for Masterson to put it all together this year. His stuff is nasty. He just needs to limit the base on balls. My biggest concerns are at 2nd and 3rd base. I think Antonetti missed the boat on Cantu. He could’ve been a nice/cheap stop gap until Chisenhal is ready. These spring games can’t start soon enough! We’re down to 52 days until the opener. GO TRIBE!!!

  2. before reading this, I felt pretty bad about the Tribe’s chances this season…Though I am not as optimistic as you, you have some very valid points. It is still hard to believe the Dolan’s will do anything when or IF crunch time comes. Still, baseball is here and that is good…. I enjoy your outlook….


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Browse

  • Archives