It’s Great To Be Back

By Bruce Hooley

I remember riding on the tractor with my dad at age five.

I don’t remember being four.

I wish I did, because then I’d remember the Browns winning the NFL championship.

I, like most of you, have known nothing but sports frustration since 1964.

I remember Mike Curtis and the Colts hammering the Browns in the 1968 title game, and the Vikings and Joe Kapp doing the same the next year.

I sat in my campus apartment with no heat in 1981, frozen to the bone and not caring even a little bit until Sam told Sipe, “Throw it in the lake if he’s not open.”

Six years later, I could barely contain my glee as a member of the working media — no cheering in the press box, you know — as Brian Brennan spun away to score the go-ahead touchdown. When Denver botched the ensuing kickoff, they were 98 yards away and we were just minutes from our first Super Bowl.

I don’t need to tell you the rest.

The following year, you and I just started to come out of our chairs to celebrate as Ernest Bynar broke free inside the 5. Denver was finally going down and we were finally headed to the Promised Land.

Yeah, well…

I’ve felt what you’ve felt, every step of the way, from Red Right 88 to Mesa blowing the save to, “I’m taking my talents to South Beach.”

That’s just going to make it so much sweeter when we finally get there.

I want to be in this city when that happens, which is why I’m thrilled to join ESPN 850 WKNR. I’ll be hosting the afternoon show with Greg Brinda and Chris Fedor starting Monday at 3 p.m., and I can’t wait.

I promise you fast, fun, Cleveland sports talk from guys who share your passion for our teams and our city. Greg and Chris are Cleveland natives. I grew up in rural Ohio, but my brother raised me to love Bill Nelson to Gary Collins and Gene Hickerson leading Leroy Kelly around the end.

I spent 18 years at The Plain Dealer covering Ohio State football and basketball, so it’s great to be back here after six years away doing sports radio in Columbus.

I’ve experienced some great things in 25 years as a journalist…the Olympics, the Super Bowl, the World Series, numerous bowl games, BCS championships and Final Fours.

Nothing will compare to doing sports talk in this city when a championship banner goes up.

Until that happens, we’ll talk about every step of the journey.

It would be a privilege to have you join us for the ride.

Follow Bruce on Twitter @BHoolz

 

2 Comments

  1. Welcome Bruce ! I like the lineup mix at 3 pm. Liked what you contributed in the few shows you have done thus far.

  2. Bruce, you are sorely missed at 97.1 and in Columbus. Your honesty and insight were spot on. 850 Cleveland can be tough to come in at times , but I will endure the static. 97.1 The Fan’s programming is so poor it is almost laughable.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Browse

  • Archives